I’ve Entered My First Ultra!

18 06 2012

In total last week I racked up 42 miles, including two 12 mile back to back runs at the weekend.

I was aiming for around 22 miles this weekend and having managed a bit more, and because my legs don’t feeling like they’ve been run over by a truck, I’ve taken the plunge and entered my first ultra distance race. Ok… I the furthest I’ve raced before is a half marathon and I thought the next gradual step would be to complete a marathon, makes sense? Well, having scoured the internet and magazines I haven’t found a suitable marathon distance trail run. The only one that came close was Kielder marathon but I’ve already entered a trail race on the day before. So the plan was to find a marathon to run in early 2013 but when I heard that High Terrain Events had decided to add a 50K event as part of the Salomon Trail Tour Series I jumped at the chance and entered this morning. Let the training begin!

Investing in a foam roller is easily the best thing I’ve bought. I’m hoping that’s why my legs don’t feel so bad, not that I really know what I’m doing with it. I had a quick look on You Tube about how to roll the usual muscles quads, hamstrings, calves etc… And rolled them after my runs this weekend.

Oh, I also tried eating while running on Sunday. That went ok I think. I didn’t get any pains and I didn’t spew, bonus! Need to take a drink though, I chose a Powerbar from the supermarket but the nuts were hard to swallow without a gulp of water.

All-in-all not a bad weekend.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

