The Season Begins in March

21 01 2011

Woke this morning to a ridiculously cold -4.5 deg C!  Its hard enough getting out of bed for work, let alone going for a morning run.  Might try to get up one morning next week for an easy run because at some point I’m going to have to increase my mileage substantially.  I’ve always wanted to be an early riser but have never been able to get into the routine.  Goal for next week = One early morning run!

So last night I decided to enter the Lakeland Trails Spring and Autumn Series.  6 tough runs throughout the lake district starting in April, I can’t wait.  I also looked at the races in Evenwood Road Runners (my club) grand prix competition.  This is a set group of races decided at the beginning of the year where you stand to collect points if you run faster than your predicted minute miles (if that makes sence, its like a handicap).  Anyway the first race is Haweswater Half Marathon at the beginning of March and that’s when my season kicks off!

Ran intervals tonight on the treadmill in the hope I can inject some speed into them.  Follow the link to see it: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/64442682 .  I followed Ryan Hall’s Training Plan a few years ago in preparation for a half marathon in Lanzarote (2008 I think, might try and find the results for proof) and I really enjoyed it, so I thought I’d give it another go.

Ok time to sleep. Night night.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment